top of page

Final Reflections (4/22)

My final day provides the chance for some final reflections. The aspect of the internship that has added to my personal development has been simply experiencing a job in the sports world for the first time. It has helped me realize that this is something I want to do, and that being around sports is the most enjoyable thing for me to do. There have been many experiences that have related to my academic studies, particularly in how to function in a growing organization. I have worked on my interpersonal skills and adaptability, and I have been able to apply some sports knowledge from my sports courses such as how departments need to work together and how large events need to be addressed.

I enjoyed my supervisor and thought the supervision and communication was adequate. I felt comfortable working with him, and thought he did a good job of supervising me when necessary and trusting me to work independently at times as well. I grew into the position and he was vocal about his appreciation and trust in me as a quality employee.

The internship has confirmed my career objective to work in sports. I am still not sure what specific aspect of sports, but I know that I am close to getting the right thing. This experience working in a sports-focused organization has confirmed that feeling and strengthened it to the extent that I am just ready to start doing the work as soon as possible.

I would tell other students to be aware that they are joining a growing company that has some clear growing pains to sort out. Not everything is perfect, and there is still some friction between departments and individuals largely due to the financial burden being taken to get the project off the ground. I would also tell any students considering this experience that it is very unique and not an experience you can find many other places. The Hall of Fame Village is one-of-a-kind in many ways, and it is overall a great place to have had an internship experience.


(Photo Credit: bizjournals.com)

bottom of page