top of page

Initial Expectations (4/20)

My initial expectations were met in some ways and not in others. I started this experience expecting the environment to be extremely fast-paced and high stress. While it was partly due to the time of year that I am with the Village, I have not found that to be the case. There is a focus on excellence and attention to detail, but it is not to the extent that I would call it a stressful environment. The leaders of the Operations department are naturally easygoing people and that attitude is reflective in the rest of the staff. The organization is run well from that perspective, and it is an enjoyable department of which to be a member.

I have been disappointed with some of the other departments within the Village. I haven’t had much interaction with the human resources team apart from the first week of the experience, and I expected them to check in far more frequently to gauge how the interns are doing. That simply hasn’t happened. It seems to be that this might be due to a lack of adequate staffing, but it has still been disappointing to see.

I do hope this experience turns into a full-time position. I have mentioned it in other posts, but it is a unique experience to be joining an organization that is still growing and developing. There is a lot of potential that can be realized if the right people are put in the right places. I would say that my expectation in terms of how I feel about the overall experience has been met.


(Photo Credit: bizjournals.com)

bottom of page