top of page

Team Success vs Status (4/6)

The biggest takeaway from today has been sitting in during conversations about new office spaces. As the Village is expanding, one of the biggest new spaces is going to be a large office building that is meant to house Village offices as well as have some spaces available for lease for outside companies. As a result, the Executives and other higher-level employees are being forced to determine who is going to have office space in the new building and who will be left behind. This has mostly been interesting for me to see some of the clamoring for “better” offices or “executive” offices and how that is such a priority for some employees. It seems to me this might be part of the cause for some of the disdain of employees and some of the mismanagement in some areas of the organization. Other employees don’t seem to care whether they get office space or not, which is definitely how I would be if I was in the conversation. I have been able to realize that the most important thing to me is team success rather than any type of individual recognition or status. As long as things are operating smoothly and I am doing my job well, it’s not as important to me if I get the best office or any other kind of special perk. Being in some of these conversations and hearing the perspectives of some of the employees has helped me realize the kind of mentality I want to have and has helped me identify some of the employees I want to try to learn from and emulate in some ways.


(Photo credit: bizjournals.com)

bottom of page